Oklahoma Higher Education Employees Insurance Group a/k/a OKHEEI Group

Minutes of Special Meeting

655 Research Parkway Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Video Conferencing Sites:

East Central University Science Hall, Room 309 1100 E 14th St Ada, OK 74820 (580) 559-5217

Attendees: Lynn Lofton, Dawn Thurber

Western Oklahoma State College 2801 N Main St Altus, OK 73521 (580) 471-6994 Attendees: April Nelson

Friday, July 22, 2016 10:00 a.m.

1. Announcement of Filing Meeting Notice and Posting of the Agenda in Accordance with the Open Meeting Act.

The OKHEEI Group Board of Trustees met in regular session at 10:00 a.m., July 22, 2016, at State Regents, 655 Research Parkway, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. Notice of the meeting had been properly filed with the Secretary of State by July 20, 2016 and a copy of the Agenda posted by 10:00 a.m., in compliance with the Open Meeting Act.

a. Call meeting to order

Vice-Chair Dennis Westman (MSC) called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

b. Attendance

The following OKHEEI Board of Trustees were present:

Designee T. Lynn Lofton, East Central University – via iTV
Dennis Westman, Murray State College
Designee Christy Landsaw, Northeastern Oklahoma State University
Anita Simpson, Northern Oklahoma College
David Pecha, Northwestern Oklahoma State University
Jena Marr, Redlands Community College
Krista Norton, Rose State College
Charlie Babb, RUSO Administrative Offices
Braden Brown, Seminole State College
Dennis Westman, Southeastern Oklahoma State University
Tom Fagan, Southwestern Oklahoma State University
Patti Neuhold, University of Central Oklahoma
Designee April Nelson, Western Oklahoma State College – via iTV

The following Trustees were absent:

The following guests were present:

Whitney Popchoke, OKHEEI/RUSO
Courtney Jones, Seminole State College
Brenda Burgess, Southwestern Oklahoma State University
Alisa Hamett, Northeastern Oklahoma State University
Scott DeBoard, University of Central Oklahoma
Diane Feinberg, University of Central Oklahoma
Justine Mankin, University of Central Oklahoma
Marjorie Robertson, Southeastern Oklahoma State University (via ITV)
Dorothy Owens, Southeastern Oklahoma State University (via ITV)
Debbie Maness, Southeastern Oklahoma State University (via ITV)
Justin Kaipus, USI
Shailesh Kella, USI

c. Approval of minutes of 07.07.2016 OKHEEI Board Meeting.

Anita Simpson (NOC) made the motion, seconded by Jena Marr (RCC), to approve the minutes of the July 7, 2016 meeting.

Voting for the motion:

Designee T. Lynn Lofton, East Central University – via iTV
Dennis Westman, Murray State College
Designee Christy Landsaw, Northeastern Oklahoma State University
Anita Simpson, Northern Oklahoma College
David Pecha, Northwestern Oklahoma State University
Jena Marr, Redlands Community College
Krista Norton, Rose State College
Charlie Babb, RUSO Administrative Offices
Braden Brown, Seminole State College
Dennis Westman, Southeastern Oklahoma State University
Tom Fagan, Southwestern Oklahoma State University
Patti Neuhold, University of Central Oklahoma
Designee April Nelson, Western Oklahoma State College – via iTV

Voting against the motion: None

Abstaining: None

2. Justin Kaipus and Shailesh Kella, USI, presented the executive summary and report dated 7/22/2016 while also reviewing the presentation from the 7/7/2016 meeting.

Vice-Chair Dennis Westman (MSC) declared a 10 minute recess prior to making a motion on medical insurance at approximately 11:00 a.m.

Vice-Chair Dennis Westman (MSC) called the meeting back to order at 11:10 a.m.

a. Tom Fagan (SWOSU) made the motion, seconded by Anita Simpson (NOC), to move medical to Blue Cross Blue Shield's Self-Insured Plan with SunLife as the stop loss carrier, which would result in a 6.6% increase if funding at 100% of expected claims. Group will wait to decide on rates until the August 4th meeting.

Voting for the motion:

Designee T. Lynn Lofton, East Central University – via iTV
Dennis Westman, Murray State College
Designee Christy Landsaw, Northeastern Oklahoma State University
Anita Simpson, Northern Oklahoma College
David Pecha, Northwestern Oklahoma State University
Jena Marr, Redlands Community College
Krista Norton, Rose State College
Charlie Babb, RUSO Administrative Offices
Braden Brown, Seminole State College
Dennis Westman, Southeastern Oklahoma State University
Tom Fagan, Southwestern Oklahoma State University
Patti Neuhold, University of Central Oklahoma
Designee April Nelson, Western Oklahoma State College – via iTV

Voting against the motion: None

Abstaining: None

Designee T. Lynn Lofton (ECU) made the motion, seconded by Patti Neuhold (UCO), to carve out Proton Pump Inhibitors from the plan and implement the member pay the difference between generic and brand prescriptions, when requested and not specifically prescribed by doctor. This will result in an estimated combined savings of 1.4%.

Voting for the motion:

Designee T. Lynn Lofton, East Central University – via iTV
Dennis Westman, Murray State College
Designee Christy Landsaw, Northeastern Oklahoma State University
Anita Simpson, Northern Oklahoma College
David Pecha, Northwestern Oklahoma State University
Jena Marr, Redlands Community College
Krista Norton, Rose State College
Charlie Babb, RUSO Administrative Offices
Braden Brown, Seminole State College
Dennis Westman, Southeastern Oklahoma State University
Tom Fagan, Southwestern Oklahoma State University

Patti Neuhold, University of Central Oklahoma Designee April Nelson, Western Oklahoma State College – via iTV

Voting against the motion: None

Abstaining: None

b. Justin Kaipus, USI, mentioned bringing in the three Value-Added Services vendors to let them explain their products better so the group can choose which products, if any, we want to implement at the August 4th meeting.

3. Chair's Report

None

4. OKHEEI Board Member's Comments and Announcements

None

5. Adjournment

Patti Neuhold (UCO) made a motion, seconded by Anita Simpson (NOC) to adjourn the meeting.

Voting for the motion

Designee T. Lynn Lofton, East Central University – via iTV

Dennis Westman, Murray State College

Designee Christy Landsaw, Northeastern Oklahoma State University

Anita Simpson, Northern Oklahoma College

David Pecha, Northwestern Oklahoma State University

Jena Marr, Redlands Community College

Krista Norton, Rose State College

Charlie Babb, RUSO Administrative Offices

Braden Brown, Seminole State College

Dennis Westman, Southeastern Oklahoma State University

Tom Fagan, Southwestern Oklahoma State University

Patti Neuhold, University of Central Oklahoma

Designee April Nelson, Western Oklahoma State College – via iTV

Voting against the motion: None

Abstaining: None

Vice-Chair Dennis Westman (MSC) adjourned the meeting at approximately 11:40 a.m.